For underrepresented voices in nature writing
key dates

31 May–25 August
29 September

The Nan Shepherd Prize 2023 longlist will be announced on 29 September at 1pm BST.

Who is the prize for? Unpublished, underrepresented nature writers.

If you have an idea for a book of nature writing, you haven’t previously published a book, you’re based in the UK or Ireland, and you consider yourself underrepresented in nature writing (whether through ethnicity, disability, class, sex, gender, sexuality or any other circumstances) then the Nan Shepherd Prize is for you. (Still not sure if you qualify? See our submission guidelines.)

What does the winner get? A book deal!

The winner receives a £10,000 publishing contract with Canongate. If they don’t already have an agent they also receive an offer of representation with Caro Clarke at Portobello Literary.

Find out more

Marchelle Farrell


Moving between Trinidad and an idyllic English country garden, this lyrical and reflective book is about the search for home.

Nina Mingya Powles

Small Bodies of Water

In lyrical, powerful prose, Small Bodies of Water weaves together memories, dreams and nature writing. Exploring everything from migration, food, family, earthquakes to the ancient lunisolar calendar.